Rediff Logo Cricket
May 20, 1999

Sections NEWS

send this report to a friend

Statistical Highlights 42nd match: Pakistan v Australia at Lord's on 20-6-1999 (Final)

Mohandas Menon

This match was the 1484th in Limited over international (LOI) history.

This match was the 200th in World Cup history.

Both teams have now played in same number of LOI matches - 435th - the maximum by any other country.

Likewise, both teams were playing their 47th WC match - again the most played by any other nation.

It was their 51st meeting in LOIs and their sixth in the WC. The teams had met each other on 23-5-1999 at Leeds when Pakistan won by 10 runs.

This match was the 26th LOI and the 10th in the WC to be played at this venue, which includes four WC finals.

This venue was hosting its third WC match of this tournament.

sx Englishman David Shepherd was umpiring his 86th LOI match, while West Indian Steve Bucknor was officiating in his 70th match. For Shepherd it was his 35th WC match and for Bucknor his 25th. Incidentally, these two umpires have stood in most WC matches.

Bucknor was officiating his third seccessive final. He had umpired the 1992 and 1996 finals. He emulates Englishman 'Dickie' Bird to become the only second umpire to officiate in three successive WCs. Bird had the distinction of umpring the first three WC finals.

Pakistanis Inzamamul Haq, Wasim Akram, Moin Khan and Ijaz Ahmed, alongwith Australian Steve Waugh were appearing in their second WC final. The Pakistanis had earlier appeared in the 1992 WC final, while Waugh played in the 1987 final - almost 12 years ago.

Steve Waugh has joined Pakistani Javed Miandad by appearing in maximum 33 WC matches than any other player. Incidentally Wasim Akram was appearing in his 32nd WC match.

Both the captains have equalled their respective countries record of having played in maximum matches against each other. Wasim was playing in his 35th LOI match against Australia, equalling Miandad, while S Waugh was appearing in his 34th, thus equalling Border of having played in most matches against Pakistan.

Ijaz's wicket was Warne's 17th wkt in this WC. It was the maximum taken by a spinner in a single WC. Saqlain, before this match had 16 wickets in this WC, while felllow Pakistani Mushtaq Ahmed also had 16 in the 1992 WC.

The wicket of Moin Khan was Warne's 200th LOI wicket. He was playing in his125th match. He now becomes the second Australian (after McDermott 203 wickets) and the 11th bowler in LOI history to do so.

Moin's wicket was also Warne's 50th wicket this calendar year - the most by any bowler in 1999.

Shahid Afridi (13) on 8 reached his 2000th run in his 90 match. He becomes the 13th Pakistani and the 83rd batman in LOI history to do so.

The wicket of Afridi was Warne's 19th wicket in this WC which betters the Australian record of 18 wickets in a single WC held by Craig McDermott in 1987.

Wasim Akram's wicket was Shane Warne's 20th wicket this WC. He equals the record of Kiwi Geoff Allott of most wickets in any single WC tournament.

Steve Waugh's catch of Akram has taken his tally to 14 in the WC to become the fielder with most catches in the WC. Anil Kumble has 13 catches to his credit.

The 25 extras was the top-scorer for Pakistan, with Ijaz Ahmed being the second highest scorer with 22. It provided the twelfth instance in LOIs when the extras either top-scored or was the joint top-scorer. It also provided the sixth such instance in the WC. This was the first time in LOIs the extras have top-scored in a Pakistani innings.

Pakistan's total of 132 (in 39 overs) was the lowest by any team in a WC final. The previous lowest was the 140 by West Indies against India at this same venue in the 1983 WC final. Incidentally this total was the lowest ever in any LOI match at this venue.

It was also the lowest ever total by Pakistan against Australia in LOIs. The previous lowest was the 140 (in 49 overs) at Adelaide on 30-1-1984.

Pakistan's total was the fourth lowest in a final of any LOI tournament. The lowest score still remains with Pakistan when it made 114 against South Africa at Cape Town on 23-4-1998 in the final of the Standard Bank tri-nation one-day series. The other two instances came at Calcutta when West Indies were dismissed for 123 by India on 27-11-1993 in the Hero Cup final and recently at Sharjah on 16-4-1999, India were all out for 125 against Pakistan in the final of the Coca-Cola Cup.

Mark Waugh when on 12, became the highest run scorer for Australia in the WC. He went past his twin brother Steve's run aggregate of 978 runs.

Later in the innings, Mark Waugh on 23 became the highest run scorer during this calendar year. He went past the aggregate of India's Rahul Dravid who had 1119 runs to his credit.

Waugh also crossed his 1000th run in the WC when on 33. He becomes the fourth batsman in WC history to reach this land-mark.

Adam Gilchrist who reached his 50th run in 33 balls recorded the fastest 'fifty' by any batsman in a WC final.

The partnership of 75 runs between Gilchrist and M Waugh was Australia's best for the first wicket against Pakistan in the WC. The previous best was 73 between David Boon and Geoff Marsh at Lahore in the 1987 WC.

It was the highest partnership for the first wicket against Pakistan in this WC. The previous highest was the 69 runs between Bangladesh's Mehrab Hossain and Shahriyar Hossain at Northampton 31-5-1999.

The last occasion any opening pair has scored more against Pakistan was when Zimbabweans Grant Flower and Neil Johnson put on 101 at Sheikhupura on 22-11-1998.

The only other occasion Australia has won a final of a LOI tournament so comprehensively was when it beat New Zealand at Auckland also by eight wickets on 11-3-1990 in the Rothman's Cup final.

However by winning the match with 179 balls to spare, the Australians recorded the largest ever victory by any team in a final of a LOI tournament. The South Africans had won by 134 balls to spare when they beat Pakistan at Cape Town on 23-4-98 in the final of the Standard Bank tri-nation one-day series (see above).

Australia now joins West Indies as the only second team to win the WC on two occasions.

It was Australia's 18th tournament victory in LOIs, now the maximum by any other team. India has won 17 LOI tournaments.

Steve Waugh also emulates the following six West Indian players - Gordon Greenidge, Alvin Kallicharran, Viv Richards, Cilve Lloyd, Deryck Murray and Andy Roberts, by becoming a part of a winning WC team on two occasions. Waugh has been a part in 1987 and now 1999, while the West Indians won it in 1975 and 1979. Just for the record, Tom Moody almost emulated the above players. He did play in some matches in the 1987 WC but did not appear in the final match against England at Calcutta. (The coach of 1999 WC winning team Geoff Marsh also appeared in the 1987 WC final for Australia).

Warne won his 13th Man of the match award of his career and his fourth such award in the WC. Warne by also winning an award in the semi-final against South Africa, emulated India's Mohinder Amarnath in 1983 and Sri Lankan Aravinda deSliva in 1996 to win two successive man of the match awards in the semi-final and final of the WC.

South African Lance Klusener won the man of the tournament award to emulate Sri Lankan Sanath Jayasuriya who won the similar award in the 1996 WC.

 Name: Email:
 Post a message:

Tell us what you think of this page