Rediff Logo Cricket
June 05, 1999

Sections NEWS

send this report to a friend

Statistical Highlights 32nd match: South Africa v Pakistan at Nottingham on 5-6-1999

Mohandas Menon

This match was the 1474th in Limited over international (LOI) history.

This match was the 190th in World Cup history.

This match was South Africa's 170th and Pakistan 431st in LOIs. Pakistan equals Australia's tally of most LOI matches.

This match was South Africa's 21st and Pakistan's 43rd in the WC.

It was their 22nd meeting in LOIs and their third in the WC.

This match was the 20th LOI and the 10th in the WC to be played at this venue.

This venue had hosted the England-Zimbabwe WC encounter on 25-5-1999.

The catch of Wasti was Mark Boucher's 50th dismissal (48 catches and 2 stumpings). He becomes the second South African, after Dave Richardson and the 18th keeper in LOI history to do so. By taking 36 matches to reach this milestone, he becomes the fifth quickest wicket-keeper in least matches after Richardson and Indian Nayan Mongia (33rd match), Australian Rodney Marsh (34th) and Pakistani Moin Khan (35th).

The run-out of Inzamam ul Haq was the 30th of his career. He now joins India's M Azharuddin and Sri Lankan Arjuna Rantunga in the number two position among batman with 30 run-outs in their career. Pakistani captain Wasim Akram has the maximum run-outs - 31. However in terms of run-out frequency percentage, Inzamam is far ahead than any contemporary batsman in LOI - with 19.48%. The dubious distinction of the worst runner between wickets in LOIs goes to South African Dave Richardson who has a frequency of 36.36% (16 run-outs out of 44 dismissed innings) and among top order batsman Sri Lankan Asanka Gurusinha has a frequency % of 19.57 - just a few fractions above Inzamam.

The partnership of 56 runs between Moin Khan and Azhar Mahmood was Pakistan's best for the seventh wicket against South Africa in LOIs. The previous best was the 55 run partnership between Asif Mujtaba and Wasim Akram at Johannesburg on 12-1-1995.

Moin Khan's 63 was the highest individual score made by a Pakistani keeper in the World Cup. The previous best was the 56 by Salim Yousuf against West Indies at Lahore in the 1987 WC.

The partnership of 16 runs between Daryll Cullinan and Jacques Kallis was South Africa's best against Pakistan for the fourth wicket in the WC.

The partnership of 77 runs between Kallis and Shaun Pollock was South Africa's best for the sixth wicket against any country in the WC. The previous best of 71 runs was also against Pakistan between Hansie Cronje and Brian McMillan at Brisbane in the 1992 WC.

Azhar Mahmood's 3-24 was the best figures by a Pakistani against South Africa in the WC. The previous best was 3-50 by Waqar Younis at Karachi in the 1996 WC.

Saqlain Mushtaq captured his 200th wicket (victim: Kallis) in just 104 matches. He is now the quickest to reach this milestone in terms of least matches. South African Allan Donald who took his 200th wicket in 117 matches during this WC was the previous quickest. Fellow Pakistani Waqar Younis had done so in 118 matches during the 1996 WC.

The match winning unbeaten 45 runs partnership between Lance Klusener and Boucher was South Africa's best for the 8th wicket against Pakistan. The previous best was the 18 between Dave Richardson and Meyrick Pringle at Centurion on 21-2-1993.

Klusener unbeaten 46 runs takes his tally to 396 runs without being dismissed in the last nine innings. The previous record aggregate of 334 unbeaten scores was held by Sri Lankan Aravinda deSilva who during 1996-97 season had the following scores: 49*, 83*,127*,75*. Pakistani Javed Miandad in 1982-83 had an aggregate of 398 runs before being dismissed. Klusener now need just three more runs to obliterate Miandad's record.

Pakistan has now lost to South Africa in the last 13 matches. Pakistan's last win came at Durban on 17-12-1994 when it beat South Africa by 8 wickets. It was Pakistan's third successive loss against South Africa in the WC.

Klusener won his 13th Man of the match of his career. It was his fourth such award in this tournament. He equals the record of Sri Lankan Aravinda deSilva who had won four in the 1996 WC. Just for the record, West Indian Viv Richards in 1983 and Englishman Graham Gooch in 1987 have won three awards each.

 Name: Email:
 Post a message:

Tell us what you think of this page