Rediff Logo
Channels: Astrology | Broadband | Chat | Contests | E-cards | Money | Movies | Romance | Weather | Wedding | Women
Partner Channels: Auctions | Auto | Bill Pay | Education | Jobs | Lifestyle | TechJobs | Technology | Travel
Home > Cricket > News > Report
September 28, 2000

 -  News
 -  Betting Scandal
 -  Schedule
 -  Database
 -  Statistics
 -  Interview
 -  Conversations
 -  Columns
 -  Gallery
 -  Broadband
 -  Match Reports
 -  Archives
 -  Search Rediff

 Search the Internet

E-Mail this report to a friend

Jagdale likely to replace Deshpande

Faisal Shariff

Sanjay Jagdale, a former Ranji Trophy player and honorary secretary of the Madhya Pradesh Cricket Association, is most likely to succeed Anil Deshpande as the national selector from Central Zone, following the latter's decision to step down.

Speaking to on Thursday, Deshpande said his decision to quit as national selector is purely on personal grounds. He said the Vidarbha Cricket Association, from where he was nominated, has been intimated about the same.

South Zone selector T A Shekhar is also likely to be replaced. According to a Board of Control for Cricket in India member, in all likelyhood former Test player Brijesh Patel will take his place despite the fact that Shekhar is very 'well connected'.

Currently coach of the MP Ranji side, Sanjay Madansingh Jagdale appeared for Madhya Pradesh as an all-rounder from 1968-69 to 1982-83 in 49 Ranji Trophy matches, and scored 2037 runs with two hundreds and nine fifties. He also claimed 78 wickets (avg. 34.98) with a best of 6-132 for MP vs UP at Bhilai in 1976-77. Added to that he also has 43 catches to his credit.

The 71st Annual General Meeting of the BCCI, to be held at the Connemara hotel in Madras, on the September 29 will discuss the selection of the various committees for the following year besides reviewing the previous year’s performance.

For the first time in the 70-year history of the BCCI, the agenda on review and consideration of the coach's reports will not be taken up at its Annual General Meeting, as former coach Kapil Dev has not submitted them.

Mail Cricket Editor